25 AAI airports earmarked for asset monetization under NMP

Representational Image

New Delhi: The Union Government has earmarked 25 Airports Authority of India (AAI) airports for asset monetization over the years 2022 to 2025 under National Monetization Pipeline (NMP), Minister of State in the Ministry of Civil Aviation Gen. V. K.Singh (Retd) said on December 9, 2021.

Giving a written reply to a question in the Lok Sabha, he informed the House that the names of these airports are: Bhubaneshwar, Varanasi, Amritsar, Trichy, Indore, Raipur, Calicut, Coimbatore, Nagpur, Patna, Madurai, Surat, Ranchi, Jodhpur, Chennai, Vijayawada, Vadodara, Bhopal, Tirupati, Hubli, Imphal, Agartala, Udaipur, Dehradun and Rajahmundry.

The AAI has identified Tiruchirappalli (Trichy) International Airport in Tamil Nadu among 13 airports for operations, management and development of the airports through Public-Private Partnership (PPP) mode in the public interest and for better management of the airports, the Minister said.

He, however, added: “Even after bringing these airports under PPP mode of operations, AAI will remain the owner of the airports and all these airports will revert to AAI once the Concession Period is over.” (Press Release)

Similar Articles




Most Popular

You cannot copy content of this page

In Order to Strengthen Democracy, Citizens Should Bear the Cost of Impartial Journalism. Join 1-Rupee Campaign