UP Elections 5th Phase: Voting for 61 seats today

Representational Image (Pixabay)

New Delhi: Voting for 61 seats in 12 districts under the fifth phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly elections will be held today

A total of 692 candidates are in the fray, whose political fate will be decided by about 2.24 crore voters.

Under the fifth phase,  voting will be held in Amethi, Rae Bareli, Sultanpur, Shravasti, Bahraich, Barabanki, Gonda, Ayodhya, Pratapgarh, Kaushambi, Chitrakoot and Prayagraj.

In the 2017 assembly elections, the BJP won 47 out of 61 seats, SP got five seats, and the BSP was reduced to three seats.

Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya is in the fray from Sirathu seat of Kaushambi.

Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya is once again contesting from Kunda seat of Pratapgarh.

Sanjay Singh, the head of the former princely state of Amethi, from Amethi Sadar, cabinet minister in Yogi government Rajendra Pratap Singh alias Moti Singh from Pratapgarh’s Patti , Minister Siddharth Nath Singh  from Prayagraj West, Minister Nand Gopal Gupta Nandi from Prayagraj South, Minister of State Chandrika Prasad Upadhyay from Chitrakoot , and BJP MP Braj Bhushan Sharan Singh’s son Prateek Bhushan Singh from Gonda Sadar are in the fray.

Apna Dal (S) chief Anupriya Patel’s credibility is also at stake in the fifth phase of UP elections. She has got 17 seats in the BJP alliance, out of which 7 candidates are contesting in this phase.

Anupriya’s mother Krishna Patel from Apna Dal (Kamerawadi) is in the fray as the Samajwadi Party alliance candidate. By the way, the Apna Dal (S) chief has not fielded any candidate against her mother. While Anupriya’s elder sister Pallavi is contesting from Sirathu against Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya. (PW News)


Similar Articles



Most Popular


You cannot copy content of this page

In Order to Strengthen Democracy, Citizens Should Bear the Cost of Impartial Journalism. Join 1-Rupee Campaign