HomeState PoliticsHere is what BJP's West Bengal manifesto offers

Here is what BJP’s West Bengal manifesto offers

Union Home Minister Amit Shah speaking at the release of Sonar Bangla Manifesto of Bengal BJP in Kolkata on Sunday.

New Delhi: Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Sunday released Sonar Bangla Manifesto of Bengal Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Kolkata.

Shah said: “We promise – A safe Bengal
An appeasement-free Bengal; an infiltration-free Bengal. We will bring back the Bengal that made the entire nation proud.”

He added that “We feel it is our responsibility to fulfil the dreams and aspirations of the people of Bengal.”


30% reservation to women in government jobs.

STF for corruption in relief work post Amphan, Bulbul, Aila.

A specific taskforce for coal, sand, water tanker mafia.

To transform Kolkata into an international city, a Kolkata Development Fund worth Rs 22,000 crore.

10 multistorey parking facilities in Kolkata.

Rs 500 crore investment to make Kolkata a UNESCO Heritage City.

Mahanayak Uttam Kumar Film City in Sonapur.

Sonar Bangla Museum in Kolkata.

Rs 2,500 crore to take the Gangasagar Mela to an international level.

Purohit Kalyan Board will be formed, which will provide all purohits Rs 30,000 monthly.

Rs 100 crore fund for renovation of temples.

Rs 1,000 crore to strengthen all souvenirs related to journeys of Azad Hind Fauz and Netaji globally.

Target to take Bengal at the top of Ease of Doing Business in 3 years.

Platform for guarantee-free loans worth Rs 10 lakh to MSMEs.

Electricity at Rs 2 per unit for first five years for MSMEs.

Four mega food parks, 10 small food parks, 1 tea park and 2 sea-food processing parks to generate employment.

Sailen Manna Sports University will be started.

Khelo Bangla Mahakumbha will be organized every year.

Sonar Bangla Aayog will also be started.

To read full manifesto in Bengali and English click here

It is notable that elections for 294 seats of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly are scheduled to be held between 27 March to 29 April 2021 in 8 phases.

In 2011, Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo Mamata Banerjee ended the Left Front’s 34-year rule and formed the government by winning 227 seats in the 294-member Assembly in alliance with the Congress and Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist). TMC itself won 184 seats.

Now, the BJP is aiming to end Mamata Banerjee led TMC government’s 10-year rule and form the first BJP government in West Bengal.