Maharashtra: BJP shines in Nagar Panchayat elections

Mumbai: The results of the Maharashtra Nagar Panchayat (City Council) elections were declared on January 19, 2022,  in which the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged as the single largest party by winning 384 out of 1,649 seats.

As per the results declared by the State Election Commission (SEC), the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won 344 seats.

According to SEC data, Congress has won 316 seats while Shiv Sena has won only 284 seats.

The SEC said that counting of votes in nine nagar panchayats of Gadchiroli district will be held on Thursday (January 20, 2022).

Congress wins 23 seats in four Nagar Panchayats of Latur

The Congress won 23 out of 68 seats in four nagar panchayats in Latur district, while the NCP and BJP got 14 each. This information was given by the State Election Commission officials.

Elections were held for 68 seats of four Nagar Panchayats in Latur district. Each Nagar Panchayat had 17 seats. The counting of votes for Chakur, Shirur Anantpal and Jalkot and Deoni Nagar Panchayats took place on Wednesday. Congress won most of the seats in Jalkot and Deoni.

The Mahavikas Aghadi (Congress, NCP and Shiv Sena) won eight of Chakur’s 17 seats, while Prahar Janshakti Paksha won six and the BJP three, officials said.  (PW News)

Similar Articles




Most Popular

You cannot copy content of this page
In Order to Strengthen Democracy, Citizens Should Bear the Cost of Impartial Journalism. Join 1-Rupee Campaign