HomeState PoliticsShah to release BJP's manifesto for West Bengal

Shah to release BJP’s manifesto for West Bengal

Union Home Minister Amit Shah. (File Photo)

Kolkata: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is releasing its manifesto for West Bengal today.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah will release the Bengal BJP’s manifesto for the West Bengal assembly elections at Eastern Zonal Cultural Centre, Kolkata (WB) at 05:30 pm on Sunday.

Prior to this, Shah will address an election rally at Pallighai School ground, Egra (District Kanti), West Bengal at 12 noon today.

After this, he will hold a meeting with District and Mandal Office Bearers at Mecheda in Purba Medinipur district at 01:30 pm.

Elections for 294 seats of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly are scheduled to be held between 27 March to 29 April 2021 in 8 phases.

In 2011, Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo Mamata Banerjee ended the Left Front’s 34-year rule and formed the government by winning 227 seats in the 294-member Assembly in alliance with the Congress and Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist). TMC itself won 184 seats.

Now, the BJP is aiming to end Mamamta Banerjee led TMC government’s 10-year rule and form the first BJP government in West Bengal.

The saffron party has been making inroads in Mamata’s bastion after Narendra Modi became prime minister in 2014.

Though TMC became more stronger in 2016 assembly elections by winning 211 seats but BJP also announced its arrival by winning 3 seats with its alliance partner the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha.
The Congress won 44 seats and the Left Front alliance won 33 seats.

However, the BJP emerged as a main threat for Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal when it bagged 18 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state in 2019 general elections.

In by-elections from 2016 to 2021, BJP also increased its seats in the legislative assembly by 15 as of 2020. (PW News)